Iowa, Wisconsin Agree to Recognize Georgia CCW Permits

We are still waiting on the Senate to decide the fate of a National Right-to-Carry Reciprocity Bill, one that would provide a national standard in accordance with which nonresidents of a State may carry concealed firearms in the State.

But in meantime, states are continuing to reach out to each other to forge state-to-state concealed carry reciprocity agreements (there’s no reason to wait on the Fed).

The latest state to expand its reciprocal recognition program is Georgia, which added Iowa and Wisconsin to its list last month bringing its total to 26.

Georgia currently reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

signing bill into lawLegislation passed in 1996 allows Georgia to grant the privilege of firearm reciprocity to citizens of states that recognize Georgia firearms permits.

Georgia Attorney General Sam Olens, who penned the new agreements with Iowa and Wisconsin, urges permit holders to familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states
where they wish to exercise their rights under this reciprocity program.

What are your thoughts about CCW reciprocity agreements?  Should the Fed get involved or should we leave it up to the states to decide?

(Personally, I don’t believe the National Right-To-Carry Reciprocity Act will make it through the Senate).

Latest Reviews